Skip to Content | Text-only

Faculty

Christopher L. Atchison

Christopher L. Atchison

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Geoscience education
Ph.D. The Ohio State University, 2011
E-mail: catchison@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5789

Learn more about  »

Hassan Babaie

Hassan Babaie

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Structural Geology, Geoinfomatics
Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1984
E-mail: hbabaie@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5766

Learn more about  »

Dajun Dai

Dajun Dai

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: GIS, computational methods, environmental health, spatial epidemeology, urban health, and homeland security
Ph.D. Southern Illinois University, Illinois
E-mail: ddai@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5797

Learn more about  »

Daniel M. Deocampo

Daniel M. Deocampo

Associate Professor and Chair

Research Interests: Sedimentology, Mineralogy and Geochemistry
Ph.D., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, 2001
E-mail: deocampo@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5759

Learn more about  »

Jeremy Diem

Jeremy Diem

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Climatology
Ph.D., The University of Arizona, 2000
E-mail: jdiem@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5770

Learn more about  »

Leslie Edwards

Leslie Edwards

Lecturer

Research Interests: Biogeography, Biogeomorphology and Landscape Ecology
Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2001
E-mail: ledwards16@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5778

Learn more about  »

W. Crawford Elliott

W. Crawford Elliott

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Clay Mineralogy
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University,1988
E-mail: wcelliott@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5756

Learn more about  »

Katherine Hankins

Katherine Hankins

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Urban Geography
Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2004
E-mail: khankins@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5775

Learn more about  »

Timothy Hawthorne

Timothy Hawthorne

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Community geography, GIS, urban geography
Ph.D. The Ohio State University, 2010
E-mail: thawthorne@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5771

Learn more about  »

Paulo J. Hidalgo

Paulo J. Hidalgo

Lecturer

Research Interests: Igneous Petrology
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 2011
E-mail: phidalgoodio@gsu.edu 
Phone: 404-413-5780 

Learn more about  »

Nadine Kabengi

Nadine Kabengi

Assistant Professor

Research Interests:Environmental Mineralogy, Soil Chemistry
Ph.D. University of Florida, 2004
E-mail:kabengi@gsu.edu
Phone:404-413-5207

Lawrence M. Kiage

Lawrence M. Kiage

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Biogeography, Remote Sensing, Environmental Change, Paleoclimatology, Paleotempestology and GIS
Ph.D., Louisiana State University, 2007
E-mail: lkiage@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5777

Learn more about  »

Timothy E. La Tour

Timothy E. La Tour

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Metamorphic Petrology
Ph.D., University of Western Ontario, 1979
E-mail: tlatour@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5767

Learn more about  »

Ricardo Nogueira

Ricardo Nogueira

Lecturer

Research Interests: Climatology, Remote Sensing 
Ph.D., Louisiana State University, 2009
E-mail: rnogueira@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5791

Risa Palm

Risa Palm

Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
and
Provost

Ph.D., University of Minnesota,1972

Learn more about  »

Seth Rose

Seth Rose

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Aqueous Geochemistry, Hydrogeology
Ph.D., University of Arizona,1987
E-mail: srose@gsu.edu
Phone: 404-413-5757

Learn more about  »

Christy Visaggi

Christy Visaggi

Lecturer

Research Interests:  Paleoecology, Conservation Paleobiology 
Ph.D., University of North Carolina Wilmington, 2012 
E-mail: cvisaggi@gsu.edu 
Phone: 404-413-5755

Visiting Instructor and Lecturer

William Fleming - wflemming@gsu.edu

Chris Leeth - dleeth1@gsu.edu

Brian Meyer - bmeyer2@gsu.edu

Lakeisha Tate - lcoleman@gsu.edu

Adjunct Faculty

John Costello - Georgia Geological Survey  

Jordan Clayton - USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service

Joel Hartter - Associate Professor, University of New Hampshire

Arthur Horowitz - Adjunct Professor, USGS Emeritus
ahorowitz2@gsu.edu
404-4135768

Aditya Kar - Associate Professor, Fort Valley State University

Hermann Lebit - Assistant Professor, University of Louisiana Lafayette

Catalina Lüneburg - Assistant Professor, State University of West Georgia 

J. Marion Wampler - Associate Professor, Georgia Tech

Emeritus Faculty

Sanford H. Bederman - Professor Emeritus, Geography

William J. Fritz -  Professor Emeritus, Geology

Truman A. Hartshorn - Professor Emeritus, Geography

Richard Pillsbury - Professor Emeritus, Geography